Personal Reflections on 2014 & Looking Ahead to 2015

 Image - Looking Back over 2014

Looking back over 2014, I can honestly say this year was my best year yet!  I feel so proud of myself and overflowing with love, gratitude, and a deep sense of fulfillment.  With all those positive feelings, this year certainly was not expected.  The year before, in 2013 I decided to cocoon myself both emotionally and physically.  At the end of 2013, I had gone through 3 years of processing and dealing with the after effects of a divorce after 8 years of marriage.  The entire three years I was determined to make it through and come out at the end of things BETTER.  I made up my mind that I was NOT going to be defeated.  Throughout all the struggle and pain, I knew inside that I was becoming the woman I was meant to be.  After 8 years of feeling lost, I decided I was going to find myself again.  When 2014 arrived, I was ready for change and the beginning of an amazing life.  This year did not fail me!

Starting Honoring Our HAIRitage

I started Honoring Our HAIRitage in February 2014 with only the goal of adding my voice to the natural hair movement.  What has happened over this year was more than I expected for a first time blogger.  I have been given amazing opportunities to collaborate with a well-known natural hair blog and an online magazine.  I’ve connected with naturals from all over the world because of this platform.  This blog has become the highlight of my year.

After feeling passionless for so many years, I finally found something that has given me purpose and meaning.  It has been instrumental at helping me find my voice again and focus on a craft that has brought me so much joy!  Honoring Our HAIRitage has come to mean so much to me, it is now my passion and something that I know I was meant to create.

Building a Local Community of Naturals

One of the most beautiful things about being a naturalista is the fact that you get to meet women from all walks of life with the same focus, mindset, and aspirations as you when it comes to hair.  I can’t count the number of times I’ve come across naturalistas out and about, we see each other, and give each other that familiar look of understanding, that nod of awareness, sending the message, “I see you sis!”  It’s like having an unspoken knowledge of our connection to each other.  It’s been a wonderful experience that I’ve never really had before.  I think it really does come from the awareness that we as naturalistas have embarked on a similar journey to find our true selves, one hair strand at a time.

My journey has also involved inspiring a whole community of naturalistas to embrace their natural hair as well.  While I have my own approach to recruiting new naturals, it’s been quite affective.  I host a Facebook page called the Columbus Naturalistas, which has helped hundreds of local naturals connect, share information, and support each other.  In May of 2014, I hosted the International Natural Hair Meet-up Day for Columbus, which was huge success!  However, the most meaningful thing I’ve done is just being myself and demonstrating the benefits of being natural.  This has encouraged friends, family members, and complete strangers to be more aware of their hair health.  I know that I have helped open the door to a deeper understanding for them.

Looking Ahead to 2015

The most important thing I plan to do in 2015 is nurturing my personal growth and well-being.  The need to create balance in my daily life, has been one of the lessons I’ve learned this year.  Starting Honoring Our HAIRitage, making connections with other naturals, and getting back to the business of finding Jane again has proven that the struggle is worth it, but if you aren’t careful, you can lose yourself in all the hustle.  I figured out that I can’t be my best when I am overwhelmed or feeling offSo this year, I commit to seeking out the things that bring me joy, protecting myself against negativity, being determined to move forward, and striving for peace.

I hope your 2015 is just as amazing!

Don’t forget to Subscribe to never miss a post!  

Follow me on Facebook and Twitter

Feel free to Like, Comment, or Share below!!

4 thoughts on “Personal Reflections on 2014 & Looking Ahead to 2015

  1. I’m very Proud of You Jazz. I new you would always do Great for Yourself! I feel Blessed to be around to see You becoming the Beautiful and Successful Woman your becoming. And as you continue on Remember…”With God nothing shall be impossible!” Love Mom

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi there! That is great! You can Like the Columbus Naturalista’s Facebook page to keep up to date on all our meet-ups and events! I’m so glad you stopped by, and I look forward to meeting you soon:-)

      Like

Leave a Reply

